Motorcycles are a great way to explore the beauty that the state of California has to offer. It would be even better if you had the right knowledge to ride safely through the roads. There are certain basic laws that you need to remember as you head out to the outdoors on your two-wheeler. Below are the most fundamental laws that a motorcycle accident lawyer would suggest you bear in mind.
Both the driver and the passenger are required to wear a helmet. The helmets should be there at all times of operation, which is a rule stated in Section 27803 of the California’s Vehicle Code.
The same rule states that a vehicle’s handlebars are not supposed to be more than six inches higher than the driver’s shoulder when the driver is in a sitting position.
A driver is allowed to carry passengers only if there is proper arrangement for them or if there is a seat on the side of the vehicle. Further, every vehicle is supposed to have a footrest, which should be used by the passengers while traveling.
Drivers are required to use a daytime headlight regardless of their vehicle model. The only exception is for vehicles manufactured before 1978. In addition, a headlight is mandatory after sunset.
The California Highway Patrol’s Basic Rider Course is mandatory for all riders below the age of 21. They need to produce the certificate of completion as a proof for the same if they do not want to get caught and be led to a motorcycle attorney. Although all riders under 21 are advised to take the test, they may also skip the test by completing a skills test successfully.
All drivers are expected to have an M1 or M2 license. Drivers under 18 years of age are supposed to have a permit to practice, which they should use for 6 months before acquiring a license.
According to the court’s order, a two-wheeler vehicle is allowed to travel between two lanes while the adjacent vehicles are heading towards the same direction. However, this should be done with due caution, following the road rules.
Drivers are allowed to use earplugs while riding. This is meant for those who want to protect their ears from the harmful noise levels. However, they should make sure that they are able to hear the sirens and horns of other vehicles.
Your vehicle is supposed to have at least one mirror positioned to the right or the left of the vehicle. In addition, it is supposed to contain a proper muffler, and it cannot have a cutout or altered muffler. Furthermore, the law also mandates to have working turn signals.